diygirlfriday











{August 23, 2011}   Side Table Makeover

Being inspired by DIY blogs, I decided to take some me time and leave the kid at home with daddy and go do some garage sailing by myself. I was looking for a single piece of furniture for cheap that I could redo just to try out some of the new ideas I had been reading about. Just around the corner from my house, I found this. I was quite surprised it was only $3. I threw it in the back of my car and drove promptly to Lowe’s to get a few supplies like more sand paper and wood filler. And since the hubby wrecked my good angled brush, I had to get a new one of those, too.

Sidetable as acquired from a garage sale.

Main usable surface.Drawer dovetailing detail

Pretty beatup, right? It has nice dovetailing in the drawer and seems pretty sturdy, though. I contemplated what to do with it, then decided that since I had so much leftover paint from my massage office, I would start there. It’s a beautiful minty green.

Massage office color turned furniure paint color.

I needed to do a little repair on the  corner on top with some wood filler. I also decided that I didn’t want to have to find or buy 4 new drawer pulls, so I decided to fill in the cross pattern and the original drawer pull locations with wood putty.

I sanded the entire thing with the orbital sander so I could get an even coat of paint on it. Then I painted two coats of primer and two coats of eggshell in the Footpath color. I got a little crazy with the painting and probably painted way too many surfaces. The drawer is a little bit sticky when opening and closing (which I had been warned about, but did I listen? Nooooooo!). The drawer pulls are from Ikea that I had picked up several years ago, but they no longer carry it, so I can’t link ’em up for you. Spray with clear gloss spray paint to protect the finish and shazam! a whole new piece that can be used as a living room side table or bedside nightstand.

Sidetable finished!

I’m actually not going to keep this piece. I am trying to sell it on my local Craigslist site, so I made a little faux living room showing how this would fit in well with other furniture. Yes, that’s my garage door and yes I’m taking this picture in my driveway, but doesn’t the sidetable look great?

Sidetable in action!

It’s amazing what a little bit of imagination and free time can accomplish. I think it’s pretty good first attempt at refinishing furniture with paint, and all it cost me was $3. So, here’s the before and after, shown together.

Next time I think I’ll use a roller instead of a brush. I went a little batty obsessing over all the brush strokes in the primer and actual paint. What’s your favorite part of this transformation? If you had to do this yourself, how would you refinish this piece?

aylaminer says:

LOVE IT! So glad you’re blogin’ ’bout your fab DIYness 😉 Love how you made look alike four drawers into one… nice!



Thank you! Totally more modern without that cross pattern.



[…] I was in the middle of transforming that fabulous sidetable I picked up for $3, I had passed a garage sale just down the street from my house where I saw this […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
