diygirlfriday











{August 23, 2011}   Transformation Tuesday – 4-Drawer Dresser

While I was in the middle of transforming that fabulous sidetable I picked up for $3, I had passed a garage sale just down the street from my house where I saw this fabulous 4-drawer dresser. I didn’t stop to check it out because, well, I already had another piece I was working on. Every time I drove by this house, I could hear the dresser calling my name. On Monday morning I passed this house again on my way to the gym and noticed that the dresser was still sitting out front. After my workout, I stopped by the house and left a note with my phone number asking the owners to call me if it was still available. Sure enough, 10 minutes after I arrived home, they called. When I asked how much they wanted for it, the lady told me $5. I couldn’t pass that up, so I put the kid back in the car and drove over to pick up this beauty.

Dresser before transformation

Beautiful, right? It doesn’t really matter to me that she’s missing a drawer pull as I’ll be replacing them anyway. When first glancing at all the drawers, I thought one of them was missing its plastic guide, but I found that hiding in the very back stuck between some wood pieces. Score! One less thing I have to spend money on. Now the dilemma was how to paint this beauty. I knew I didn’t want it to be all one color. I figured I might as well use more of the minty green Footpath color that I had used on the sidetable transformation, and I also remembered I had a very dark grey color from when we painted our son’s bookshelf.

Dresser color scheme

Pretty, right? So, now all I have to do is use wood filler to fix the gouges in the top and the holes from the original drawer pulls. Follow that up with the orbital sander to smooth out the surfaces before painting and I’ll be all set to go.

Dovetailing detail

I painted two coats of primer on every surface. Then I decided to paint the frame and top with the Footpath color and paint the drawer fronts with that dark grey color we had used on our son’s bookcase. I have to say, I wasn’t a fan of the fact they dark grey was semigloss. It shows a lot of brush strokes and I had to paint the drawer fronts with three coats so that you couldn’t see the primer poking through. Next I headed over to Lowe’s Home Improvement to look for drawer pulls. I had no idea how hard it is to pick out drawer pulls, but I found these fabulous leaf design pulls.

Hubby asked me why I didn’t paint the kick plate with the dark grey, but i think it would have been too much dark on such a pretty piece. Spray paint with Valspar Gloss Clear Coat for protection, and shazam! you have a fabulously retro-looking piece.

Finished 4-Drawer Dresser

Color-wise it matches the sidetable which means they can both go in the same room. I’m not planning on keeping this piece either. Once again, I have it listed on our local Craigslist site, but no bites yet. I’m thinking this piece would likely sell better on Etsy, so I need to revamp my etsy store front.

What a fabulous transformation, right? And it only cost me $5. What’s your favorite part? How would you have done this differently?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
