diygirlfriday











{August 19, 2013}   Getting ready for school, the green way

On Wednesday, our oldest begins private school. They start them at Pre-K, but they evaluate the kids in the spring for the incoming year. When our son was 4, they decided he wasn’t mature enough to focus well and handle the class. Plus he would have been the youngest in the class more than likely, so it was fine with us that we waited another year. Now that he’s 5 and has grown up so much and matured, he’s completely ready to begin Pre-K at Daddy’s school. That’s right, my husband teaches there as well.

We’re pretty well known for doing what we can to be “green” and keep costs down, so when we bought our son his lunch box, we also found some reusable sandwich and snack bags at Target.

BuiltNY_Skulls I didn’t give it a whole lot of thought at the time, even though I was shocked to be paying $9.99 for these two bags. It cost us more than the lunch box my son had just picked out.

Fast-forward to today. We’re out fishing and I’m thinking about how we’re going to pack his lunch and snacks, and then it hits me that I can now buy PUL (waterproof fabric) at JoAnn’s Fabrics. I asked my husband how much he thought a yard cost. I started thinking about the dimensions of the bags I’d need to make and decided that a quarter yard would probably be enough, or half a yard at the most. Besides, I had a coupon for 50% off (and another for 40% off for my second transaction), so I could get half a yard for $4.

After we got home, I left the kids with the hubby and made my way to JoAnn’s with coupons in hand. There are so many cute patterns to choose from that it took me a little bit to decide which ones to buy. When I got up to the register for my first purchase, I found out JoAnn also has an app to get my coupons and I could use my paper one and the one from my app, so I went back and got my second cut of the other pattern I wanted.

After returning home, I did a little bit of research on designs. The design hubby wanted me to use seemed like it took more planning and was more complicated. I was in the mood for simple, so that just wasn’t going to cut it. I settled on dimensions close to a Zip-Loc bag. Cut two pieces (make one 2 inches taller than the other). Sew on the velcro, sew the side and bottom seam, and you’re done! Easy-peasy!

first one done

I was pretty pleased with how the first one turned out. I took it outside to show my son and got a very enthusiastic “Cool!” I went back to work and completed some more. These are all I got done tonight and I’ll finish some more this week while I’m on vacation.

 

 

all done

He’s going to have a very cool lunchbox indeed!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
